Skip to content

Writing Short Copy

May 10, 2013

Sparking interest is the key to successful short copy, which can be very hard to do with limited space. Being concise and brief is the order of the day. Orlando Montoya of GPB Radio  does this extremely well.

The advantage of this style of writing is that reader receives news quickly and efficiently. Also, the attention span of most readers is remarkably short so the faster the news, the better.

The disadvantage is that some topics deserve long, thorough copy.

Truth be told, I enjoy short copy more. It’s not as hard to write as I’ve heard others proclaim, it just takes sharper focus to include details. It’s probably my strong suit because long copy gives me nightmares. I’m particularly short and blunt with my communication, and this doesn’t do me any favors when needing 700 more words for a piece.

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment